Reiki Healing

What is Reiki?

Reiki is a form of energy healing using the universal life force energy.

Rei” means spirit and “Ki” is the Japanese equivalent to “Chi” or “Qi” in Chinese, “Prana” in Sanskrit, “Mana” in Hawaiian and “light” in Christianity.

Reiki was born in Japan but was at one time banned

Reiki healing was developed by Mikao Usui in Kyoto, Japan in the 1920s.

After World War 2, eastern and traditional Japanese medicine was banned by the General Headquarters of the Allied Occupation (GHQ). This resulted in the practice of Reiki virtually disappearing from Japan.

In the west, however, Reiki had become rather popular largely thanks to Mrs Hawayo Takata who brought Reiki to the west in 1937.

Research and evidence

Many research about Reiki can be found on the web

Over the years a number of scientific studies on Reiki have been published and are readily available online.

While Reiki is widely known throughout the world, in Japan it is not as popular as most of the scientific studies published on the matter are in English.

A recent search for “Reiki” in PubMed, the medical search engine of NIH resulted in 2,934 studies including randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and meta-analysis.

Some studies showed the benefits and/or effectiveness of Reiki.

For example, a study concluded that Reiki was an effective approach for pain relief.

Demir Dogan, M. (2018) The effect of reiki on pain: A meta-analysis. Complement Ther Clin Pract. 31, 384-387.

Another study compared Reiki intervention and placebo and provided reasonably strong support for Reiki being more effective than a placebo.

Although more research and larger-scale studies on Reiki are needed, this study stated that Reiki is a safe complementary therapy and it might be beneficial for body and mind.

McManus, D.E. (2017) Reiki Is Better Than Placebo and Has Broad Potential as a Complementary Health Therapy. Journal of evidence-based complementary & alternative medicine. 22, 1051-1057.

Reiki healers

Reiki healing is an ability conferred through an “attunement” which is done by a Reiki master. Attunement is a series of rituals that are said to open the energy channels of the body.

There are four levels of healers.

A level 1 Reiki healer has the ability to treat one’s self and others. This involves 21 days of practice after attunement.

A level 2 Reiki healer has the ability to use specific symbols to access deeper phases of the person and transcend the boundaries of time and distance. We can send Reiki to anywhere and anytime (past or future).

A level 3 Reiki healer or master uses the most powerful symbol of all, and this is for empowerment and soul healing. This is used by the Reiki Master or teacher who confers the ability to attune others.

Unlike other types of energy healing, Reiki healers do not use the innate power of oneself. Healers just transfer the unlimited universal energy through their body so you can think of them as a conduit or pipe. Thus, Reiki healers do not utilize their own personal energy but rather become healthier by practising Reiki.

How Reiki works

Healers place their hands lightly on or over specific areas of the head, limbs, and torso for 2 and 5 minutes at 12 different points on the body (see below). Each hand position is held until the healer senses that the energy has stopped flowing.

Clients may experience a variety of sensations such as heat, warmth, tingling and lightness, as well as a sense of peace and wellbeing.

My clients have conveyed interesting experiences, such as the feeling of expanding their body and seeing a light sphere or vortex (mostly purple in colour) during the session.

Reiki healing can also be combined with other kinds of complementary therapies such as massage.

We can transfer Reiki while we do massage as well. However, in this case, healers and clients cannot concentrate their energy so it’s hard to assess your energy flow. However, the energy will go through to where it is needed by your body anyway.


The human body has seven energy centres which are called chakras.

If they are imbalanced or blocked for some reason, for example, a physical, psychological, emotional and/or spiritual problem, the chakra related to the problem will show some signs.

Each chakra has its characteristics and meaning.

1 RootRedkidneys, bladder, hips and moresexual energy and vitality
2 SacralOrangestomach, ovaries, prostate and testeswill, desire to succeed and creativity
3 Solar PlexusYellowliver, spleen and small intestinesconfidence, a practical disposition and intelligence
4 HeartGreenthymus gland, and immunosystemlove, compassion and forgiving
5 ThroatBluethyroid glandcommunication, self-expression and creativity
6 Third EyeIndigopituitary gland, eyes and sinusesintuition and soul knowledge
7 CrownVioletpineal glandconsciousness

Would you like to experience Reiki healing?

You can book a session on this site or contact us on Facebook.